apt cta

Make an Appointment

apt cta phn number

What Did the Supreme Court Decide?

The Supreme Court’s decision to overturn Roe v. Wade generated a lot of controversy in the United States. Many women became fearful of what would happen if they found themselves pregnant. It is important to fight misinformation and learn the facts about this decision.

The ruling did not ban all abortions in the United States. Rather, power was returned to individual states, and they were able to set their own limits on abortion. North Carolinians have the power to establish their own abortion laws through their elected representatives.

North Carolina’s Abortion Law

In North Carolina, abortion is legal up to the 20th week of a woman’s pregnancy. Abortions after 20 weeks are lawful only if there is a medical emergency. Currently, this law can only be changed if state statutes are changed and signed into law by the governor.

All women face certain conditions before undergoing an abortion procedure:

  • Women under the age of 18 must have written parental consent or a court waiver.
  • An ultrasound must be performed (with the opportunity for the woman to view it) prior to the abortion procedure.
  • Sex-selective abortions are not allowed.
  • Informed consent must be given at least 72 hours before an abortion procedure. This is when the patient knows all of the risks and benefits prior to getting an abortion.
  • If women choose to continue with their pregnancies, information about further medical assistance must be given.

Exceptions to the Ban

As stated before, a woman is allowed to undergo an abortion procedure if a medical emergency is present. According to North Carolina law, abortions are allowed in these circumstances. Minors do not need to have parental consent if they have an abortion for this reason and seek medical assistance.

Know my state.
Know my options.